Day 21 Riego de Ambros to Camponaraya

Hard to believe I have been walking for 21days now- an yes I know I took a day off in Leon, but still. It really is odd, days that we think are going to be a short walk end up taking longer. Today was 28km, I thought it was only going to be about 24km. Backpack was back in today and we had to finish coming off the mountain.
Yesterday had us walking over lots of rocks, so today we thought we will take the road to the bottom as it was still dark. All was going well until Dann and I started following the wrong people in the dark and ended back on the rocky road, a quick backtrack was required. Finally made it to Molinasec for coffee and croissant.

20130930-164726.jpg
Very pretty town with lovely old building and bridge across the river.

20130930-164819.jpg
Ran into a Spanish women Sandra who is walking the Camino with her dog Ivan. First met them about 2 weeks ago, I don’t think Thatcher would have enjoyed the walk.
Wondered through Ponferrada, famous for its medieval Templar castle. It’s funny after all this time you do get over looking at all the really old stuff and just think about getting to the next destination. While in Ponferrada we had a little nibble of cheese on toast – was to early for breakfast, so offered the boys a taste sensation. I had my tub of vegemite with me, Dann(from US) was the only one interested and enjoyed the vegemite/cheese on toast. I think it may be the fact it’s salty and we seem to crave a bit of salt after all the walking.

20130930-165659.jpg
We are now I the town of Camponaraya, nice size town but very interesting accommodation, just waiting for Anthony Bates to appear..

Leave a comment